Camp Starts In:



Arizona high-school cross country and 2-mile State Champion, Junior College National Champion, NCAA All-American at Arkansas, US Olympic Trials Finalist, Represented USA as member of US National Team in multiple World Cross Country Championships, Coach of the 1997, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2004 National Junior College Women’s Cross Country Champions, and 2004, 2008 and 2011 National Junior College Men’s Cross Country Champions (Paradise Valley Community College)


Buena High School Head Boys & Girls Cross Country & Track Coach, Former Head Coach at Rio Rico and Tombstone high schools, Coach of the 2006, 2007, 2008 Ari­zona 4A State Cross Country Team Champions, ten State Runners-Up Cross Country titles, five State Runners-Up Track and Field titles, Has coached several individual state champions, Arizona Coaches Association Cross Country Coach of the Year: 1996, 1998, 1999, 2003


Arizona high-school 1-mile State Champion, Collegiate All-American, Hopi High School Head Boys Cross Country and Asst. Boys Track Coach, Has coached his teams to 27 consecutive Arizona State Cross Country Championships (National H.S, Record), Has coached eight individual state champions


High school All-American, Millrose Mile and Penn Relays Champion, Ran collegiately at Stanford, Rio Rico High School Head Boys & Girls Cross Country & Track Coach, His teams have won five State Championship titles (3 cross country/ 2 track) including the 2012 Arizona State Cross Country Boys Team Championship and the 2013 Arizona State Cross Country Girls Team Championship, Has coached several individual state cross country and track and field champions including Carlos Villarreal (4:03.97- 1600m) and Allie Schadler (4:45.15- 1600m)


Arizona high-school 1600m and 3200m State Champion, Junior College All-American, member of 2008 National Junior College Men’s Cross Country Championship team (Paradise Valley Community College), NCAA All-American at the University of Oklahoma, Sub-Four Minute Miler (3:58), 2012 U.S. Olympic Trials Finalist at 5000m, PR’s include 3:58.76 (mile), 7:52.92 (3000m), 13:29.55 (5000m), 1:02:52 (Half-Marathon)


One of the most decorated Track & Field athletes in the history of the sport, Four-time USA Olympian representing the USA in the 1960, 1964, 1968 and 1972 Olympic Games, Bronze Medalist in the 3000m Steeplechase at the Mexico City Olympic Games in 1968, Three-time World Record Holder

We continue to add many new staff members and guest speakers. These additional speakers enable the opportunity to attend alternative classroom sessions. With the addition of these new staffers, it is impossible to list all of our speakers. Below is a list of past speakers/staff members that is typical of the type of speakers/staff members that will attend the camp.

Our staff will include several outstanding athletes and coaches. Those previously listed have made strong commitments to the camp, however, their participation is dependent upon their health and racing opportunities. We expect several of our former staff members to return this summer. Past staff members include:

Daniel Kanyaruhuru – Paradise Valley High School, Paradise Valley Community College, Queen's University, five time Junior College National Champion, led Paradise Valley to first men's national cross country championship title, NCAA Division II Indoor 5000m champion, qualified for 2008 US Olympic Trials at 10000m

Deena Kastor – Arkansas, NCAA All-American, US National Team Member, US Olympic Team, 2004 Olympic Marathon Bronze Medalist

Lisa Aguilera – Centennial High School, ASU, NCAA All-American, 2005 US Championships Steeplechase runner-up, 2005 US National Team

Tara Erdmann – Flowing Wells High School, Loyola Marymount University, NCAA All-American, US National Team Member, Olympic Trials Finalist at 10000m

Christine McMiken Speir – OSU, NCAA All-American, former indoor world record holder at 5000m, 1988 Olympian for New Zealand

Aaron Ramirez – UA, NCAA National Champion, 10,000m Finalist 1991 World Track and Field Championships, 1992 US Olympic Team

Jackie Goodman – OSU, 2-time NCAA Champion, New Zealand National Team Member

Cathy Palacios – All-American at Kansas University

Ashley Johnson – South African National Team

Stanley Mandabele – 1988 Olympian-Zimbabwe

Barry Collins – England, British National Team

Helen Blake – England, British National Team

Dick Weis – Head Coach, Oklahoma State University

Jill Hunter – 1992 Great Britain Olympic Team

David Welsh – Arkansas, NCAA All-American

John Schiefer – Arkansas, NCAA All-American

Mark Thompson – Arkansas, NCAA All-American

Kim Bosen – NCAA Division II Indoor National 5000m Champion, Adams State University